Sunday, 26 July 2015

Flag of Sabah

The current flag of the state of Sabah, in Malaysia, was adopted on 16 September 1988. It is red, white and three different shades of blue. The mountain is in the canton as in the 1963 flag, but now in dark blue on a light blue background. The field is medium blue over white over red. The mountain on the flag (and coat-of-arms) is Mount Kinabalu (4095 m).

The five different colours represent the five residencies of the Sabah state.
  1. A silhoutte of Mount Kinabalu represents Sabah state.
  2. Zircon blue colour represents peace and calmness.
  3. Icicle blue colour represents unity and prosperity.
  4. Royal blue colour represents strength and harmony.
  5. White colour represents purity and justice.
  6. Chilli red colour represents courage and determination. 

Flag of Sabah 1963-1982

On 31 August 1963, Sabah adopted a four striped flag, red over white over yellow over blue, and a green canton with a brown mountain.

The meaning of the flag created in 1963 is very similar to the current flag adopted in 1988.


Flag of Sabah 1982-1988

Flag of Sabah from 1982-1988.

In between the 1963 flag and the 1988 (current) flag another flag was used, adopted 1 January 1982. It was a completely different design: blue over white with a red triangle on the hoist. It looked very much like the Trisakti flag used by Sarawak (the other Malaysian state on Borneo) until 31 August 1988, which was red over white with a blue triangle on the hoist.

The state flag of Sabah (1982–1988) was created in 1981 under the administration of BERJAYA (Sabah People's United Front Party) from 1976 until 1985.

The flag is similar to the flag of the Czech Republic and the flag of the Philippines.

No comments:

Post a Comment